Universal Access To All Knowledge
Home Donate | Store | Blog | FAQ | Jobs | Volunteer Positions | Contact | Bios | Forums | Projects | Terms, Privacy, & Copyright
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload

Reply to this post | See parent post | Go Back
View Post [edit]

Poster: Mandojammer Date: Nov 10, 2011 6:35am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Feedback Request On My First Review

I think reviewing a show in detail is very similar to posting notes after a scotch tasting. Most of it is a bunch of pedantic snobbery, bullshit that makes the writer feel good, and heavy handed, self-aggrandizing purple prose.

I am guilty of both......

So in the immortal words of John Hartford, "Keep on truckin'"

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: William Tell Date: Nov 10, 2011 9:53am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Sorry...does ANYONE actually read "Reviews"?

"Most of it is a bunch of pedantic snobbery, bullshit that makes the writer feel good, and heavy handed, self-aggrandizing purple prose."

MOST??? WTF...all of my posts fall into this category. That little joke post about being the most self-congratulatory, full-of-himself author hereabouts was only somewhat funny because it was all true (about me).

Now, when it comes to science/philosophy/early era is better, I'd say most (not all) of what I write here is also the TRUTH, but this is beside the point--it's how it comes off, and the motivation, that matters, and you've hit the nail on the head.

Now, to the subject at hand: we've discussed this before, but really, can ANYONE truthfully say they read reviews by even acknowledged "greats" (Dr Flashback, CapnDD, Strat, few others) for more than a line or two? Or, that they contains any real information of note beyone the obvious if you listen to the show?

I've written five reviews in my lifetime here, and everyone is contrived, meaningless--forced even--drivel. I reviewed the shows that I like the most, explained them a bit, and then...stopped entirely because putting your comments in a review somehow seems all the more of an effort at self promotion, implying some significance beyond the usual post here at the Forum.

The only ones that have passing, momentary value, IMHO (this time it is) are the ones that are funny without meaning to be...

So, I know this will come off as an attack on the current posted--deniro--and for that I apologize in advance, but really, I'd like to know how many of you have spent any real time with reviews, and felt you got something out of the experience?

The only purpose they served, which was quite useful at the time for me, was to allow me to quickly sort 4-5 star shows from the rest (this usu meant "good quality sound", and as a "sound snob", I simply ignored the others).

Let me know how wrong I might be; of course, I will be shocked to find you've read this far as well...

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: clementinescaboose Date: Nov 10, 2011 10:05pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Sorry...does ANYONE actually read 'Reviews'? - YES!

I will make no claims that my 'reviews' are not self-absorbed, idiotic nonsense! But that's mainly why I write them! Yes, certain ones are to get the word out to others who might not know about a classic hidden gem waiting to be unearthed, but many times my lame excuse for writing is just so I remember what I thought about and heard in a show, a week, a month or even a year ago, and how that perspective has changed or stayed the same. And 'cause I like to stoke my ego like...well, not gonna go there...

But I do get a lot out of others' reviews, and I do read many them all the way through (except direwolf600; as much as I respect the guys opinion, goddamn it's not a novella!) Though most reviews on here are pretty bad, like I said I find some of the reviewers to be very insightful. I like to compare what I hear/don't hear that they do, as well as my curiosity as to who shares/doesn't share my opinion about shows I find to be really hot, and why...something I've always found fascinating, I suppose...

This post was modified by clementinescaboose on 2011-11-11 06:05:10

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: rdenirojb87 Date: Nov 10, 2011 10:13am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Sorry...does ANYONE actually read 'Reviews'?

WT, I can't tell you how refreshing your perspectives always are. You never leave any avenue unexplored.

"can ANYONE truthfully say they read reviews by even acknowledged "greats" (Dr Flashback, CapnDD, Strat, few others) for more than a line or two?

I can, and I know I'm not alone. I'm a quick reader, and it hardly takes any time to read most reviews posted here. They typically are not too long, and I enjoy reading them sometimes.

"putting your comments in a review somehow seems all the more of an effort at self promotion, implying some significance beyond the usual post here at the Forum."

i can certainly see that. i don't think that's the intention of the majority though. in this instance, it's more of a promotion of a show i greatly enjoy, rather than a promotion of myself. i really don't plan to review many shows. certainly not ones that have dozens of reviews already.

"So, I know this will come off as an attack on the current posted--deniro--and for that I apologize in advance"

only a nitwit would see this as an attack. i'm not sure you have any fight left in you lol.

appreciate the comments. you raise good points, wise old man.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: bluedevil Date: Nov 10, 2011 11:00am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Sorry...does ANYONE actually read 'Reviews'?

I read every single word this guy writes and treasure each and every review - it's always good to know when to pick a DSO cover over a GD original:

http://www.archive.org/search.php?query=reviewer:%22jboyaquar%22

Unfortunately, I don't think he has lent his ear and keyboard to the greatest band ever, THE MAYKERS!

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: SomeDarkHollow Date: Nov 10, 2011 11:51am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Sorry...does ANYONE actually read 'Reviews'?

"The pace is quite measured but it reflects the trepidation I feel when approaching anybody here whose view of me is as unpredictable as the slant of their eyes"

Move over Shakespeare, this dude means business.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: unclejohn52 Date: Nov 10, 2011 10:48am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Sorry...does ANYONE actually read 'Reviews'?

Agree with the basic thrust... When I was a noob at the archive, I did read, or skimmed reviews, but soon realized that almost everyone was dishing 5 stars and most detractions were for sound quality, not performance, rendering most reviews meaningless. If i've landed on a show, it's usually due to somebody's rec - so I'll pay attention if somebody claims a particularly fine version of this or that. Hyperbole kills most reviews - how many "epic" versions of Wharf Rat are there? For me, none - they were great and stand alone, or they just WERE.

As fans, none of us are real critics - our bias is on display. (no Pauline Kaels among us.) The best reviews are short and sweet, noting the highlights. Song-by-song analysis is probably suited for a personal log - anything that long has meaning only to each listener.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: robthewordsmith Date: Nov 10, 2011 11:29am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Sorry...does ANYONE actually read 'Reviews'?

I never give reviews more than a cursory glance, if that. Pretty much without exception it's bland and unappetizing fare lacking any sort of critical or literary merit and far more likely to be highly coloured reminiscence rather than considered analysis.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: SomeDarkHollow Date: Nov 10, 2011 11:41am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Sorry...does ANYONE actually read 'Reviews'?

Pedantic snobbery? You should be so lucky.

As to reviews, I will oftentimes look for trusted reviewers and if they scored a show particularly high, or low, I may read further for details. But, like Rob has mentioned, the majority are written my folks who attended those shows and swear, by God, that was the most immense Day Job EVER!!!!! When I write my little thingies, I do it primarily for the fun of writing them, I guess it's more a form of entertainment than anything else. But I agree that as a whole reviews are basically fluff written for the pleasure of the writer, and the writer alone. And trust me, I've spent a great deal of time pleasuring myself here.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: William Tell Date: Nov 10, 2011 11:54am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Sorry...does ANYONE actually read 'Reviews'?

It goes without saying that self pleasuring is your bread and butter; with a nod to Woody Allen..."your bread and various butters"?

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: robthewordsmith Date: Nov 10, 2011 12:06pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Sorry...does ANYONE actually read 'Reviews'?

A day lacking a few rocks chipped on the great highway or an item of hapless office furniture heading off into the splintered sunlight is a day that is incomplete.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: SomeDarkHollow Date: Nov 10, 2011 12:13pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Sorry...does ANYONE actually read 'Reviews'?

Can I get an Amen?

You tell 'em, brother.

Terms of Use (31 Dec 2014)